EXTREME Overclocking
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us

Plextor PlexWriter 24/10/40A

Date Reviewed: December 6, 2001
Reviewed By:
Jason Rabel
Price: ~$160 USD
Company: Plextor

 

Testing:

To test the drive, I compared it against my previous HP 9110i CD burner. It is capable of a measly 8x4x32x (which was screaming back in its day). I tested ripping both audio and data, as well as how long it took to burn a CD. Both drives are extremely quiet, which is great. I've had some drives in the past which I was afraid the CD was going to shoot out the front they were so loud.

The program used was Nero CD Speed 2000. It does a good job testing both DAE & Data reading, as well as an abundance of other small tests that you should be interested in. In the pictures below, the yellow line is the drive's RPM, and the green is the actual speed.

Anyhow, the first test was ripping an Audio CD. For the CD I used George Clinton and the P-Funk. It was a good 69 minutes long so that would give the CD drive ample time to reach it's peak performance.

HP 9110i:

Plextor 24/10/40A:

The one disappointing thing about my HP drive is that it only does DAE (Digital Audio Extraction) at 8x, which I didn't realize until AFTER I bought the drive. However the new Plextor drive can rip audio like nobody's business peaking at 32x  with an average of 24x. Even though I do have Ultra DMA mode enabled (and my device manager says Ultra DMA Enabled)  which should give me a theoretical burst rate of 33MB/s, I'm only getting 16MB/s which leads me to think Windows is only using regular DMA mode 2. I'm definitely going to have to dig some more to see if I can't remedy this, but I tried everything I could to force Ultra DMA. If anybody has any tips on how to do this for a VIA chipset, please send me an email.

Another thing to note is the CPU usage for the HP vs Plextor. The HP shot up to 100% when reading audio at 8x, whereas the Plextor was only at 7% usage.

Next up is the data reading speed. For this I used my Starcraft CD which was a good 72 minutes in length.

HP 9110i:

Plextor 24/10/40A:

This time around the HP can't get laughed at too hard, as it did perform decently. Both drives pretty much reached their advertised reading speed, with good solid average speeds. Also the CPU usage was about the same for both, neither went above 7%.

Okay, now it's time to get to what this drive is truly meant for. Burning CD's! For the test I made an ISO image of one of my CD's which was 677MB / 693,662KB. For burning I used Nero Burning Rom software because it times the burn for you from start to finish. I used the same brand of CD-R's in both drives (not that that should make a difference, but just to keep things consistant).

Burning Times For 677MB / 693,662KB
HP 9110i (8x): 10 minutes 16 seconds
Plextor 24/10/40A (24x): 4 minutes 8 seconds

Contrary to popular belief, a 24x burner doesn't burn the entire CD at a full 24x, instead most use what is called, "Zone CLV". Zone CLV technology will divide the recordable area of a disc into separate speed zones. In each zone, recording will be performed at a constant speed with optimized precision. The recording is started at the beginning of the disc at a constant speed in the first zone. After a pre-defined time (when the next zone starts) a switch is made to a higher speed. At the switching point, BURN-Proof technology is used to assure a fast, reliable transition with no loss of data. At the same time, Plextor’s unique PoweRec II technology will safeguard the write quality. You can actually hear the CD drive "kick it up a notch" each time it jumps to the next zone. Here's the actual information that a Plextor drive burns at for each zone:

Conclusions:

Talk about being blown away! My very first CD Burner was a Teac 4x SCSI which I thought was the greatest thing since sliced bread (back then CD burners were rare and expensive, I had a friend with a 2x which seemed as slow as can be compared to mine). Then when I got my 8x I thought a CD in 10 minutes was pretty darn fast. Now I can burn a CD in about 4 minutes! Not to mention I can rip audio MUCH faster to make my own custom mixes. I was hesitant first about getting a new CD burner right now, especially with the 32x drives coming out soon, but I was able to get this for about $120 after in store coupon and mail in rebate, which made it not that much more than the cheaper 24x brands, so I decided to spring the extra dough for the Plextor name.

This drive does not disappoint! I have not had one coaster thanks to the technology. I can start a burn and do whatever I want without having to worry, I have actually even gone into a game of Counter Strike while a CD was burning and it still did not hiccup.

I think for the price that 24x drives are at, they definitely would make an excellent Christmas present for someone you know (or even yourself)! I am still in awe from the jump from 8x to 24x. I don't have a separate CD-ROM drive, this one doubles as both, and it is plenty fast for the few games I play that require a CD. It is definitely an all round performer. The ONLY complaint I have is the serious flaw with their Plextor Manager 2000 software. I would be VERY hesitant about installing it if you are running Windows 2000. However if you do and it FUBAR's your system, just follow the link above on how to bring back your drives, it's very easy.

Pros:
  Very Fast Burning Speed!
  Technology
  Excellent DAE Speed!

Cons:
  Plextor Manager 2000 installation is buggy
  32x Burners Coming Out After Christmas

Rating:
 
For The Average User: 9 / 10
  For The Extreme Overclocker: 9 / 10

Discuss this article in the Overclockers Forum!

 Also, don't forget about our MEGA Give Away Contest going on all December!

 

Back To The Main Page

 

 

EXTREME Overclocking Newsletter
Thousands of PC enthusiasts are already subscribed to the EXTREME Overclocking Newsletter, have you signed up yet?
Your Email Address:
Sponsored Links
Most Downloaded Files
Recently Added Files
CPU-Z 1.4912/12/08
Compare Prices On Top Brands!
Search:
For:

Intel Processors
Core i7/i5 - Nehalem
975 Extreme  960  950  920
870  860  750  670  661  660

Core 2 Quad - Yorkfield
Q9650  Q9550  Q9400  Q9300  Q8300  Q8200

Core 2 Duo - Wolfdale
E8600  E8500  E8400  E8200  E7300  E7200

AMD Processors
Phenom II X4
965 Black  955 Black  945  925

Phenom II X2
555  550

Athlon II X4
630  620

Athlon II X3
435  425

Athlon II X2
250  245

Video Cards
nVidia GeForce GTX 200 Series
GTX 295  GTX 285  GTX 280  GTX 260

nVidia GeForce 9 Series
9800 GX2  9800 GTX+  9800 GTX  9800 GT  9600 GT  9600 GSO

ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series
4870 X2  4870  4850  4830  4670  4650

Search By Brand
ASUS  BFG  Diamond  eVGA  Gigabyte  HIS  MSI  Palit  PowerColor  PNY  Sapphire  Visiontek  XFX

PC Memory
DDR3  DDR2  DDR

Motherboards
ASUS  Biostar  DFI  ECS  eVGA  Foxconn  Gigabyte  Intel  MSI  Shuttle  Supermicro  Tyan  XFX

Hard Drives
Seagate  Maxtor  Samsung  Fujitsu  Western Digital

  Technology Magazines FREE to Qualified Professionals.
eWeek MagazineeWeek is the essential technology information source for builders of e-business. Focuses on e-commerce, communications and Internet-based architecture. Oracle MagazineOracle Magazine contains technology-strategy articles, sample code, tips, Oracle and partner news, how-to articles for developers and DBAs, and more. Dr. Dobb's JournalDr. Dobb's Journal enables programmers to write the most efficient and sophisticated programs and help in daily programming quandaries. InformationWeekInformationWeek is the only newsweekly you'll need to stay on top of the latest developments in information technology.
  Other Popular Titles: PC Magazine, BusinessWeek, Baseline, Business Solutions, Software Magazine, InfoStor, Security Source , TelevisionWeek, more...
  EXTREME Deal Of The Day | More EXTREME Deals
40% off TUMI Alpha Lightweight Ballistic Nylon Rolling Luggage, with FREE Shipping and FREE Returns!

Get a full 40% off TUMI's Alpha line of wheeled luggage in their signature ultra-durable fxt ballistic nylon. Ends 2/17/14. There's FREE shipping and FREE returns too. 40% OFF TUMI ALPHA LIGHTWEIGHT WHEELED LUGGAGE SALE

Dell XPS 8700 Desktop with 4rd Gen Intel Core i7, 8GB DDR3 SDRAM, 1TB Hard Drive, DVD Burner, and Wireless-N for $649.99 with FREE Shipping!

Dell has a good deal on their high end XPS 8700 desktop on the Intel Z87 Express chipset, and 4th gen Intel Core processor. This configuration lists at $924.99, but is just $699.99 after $225 instant discount. It comes with a 4th gen 3.4Ghz Intel Core i7-4770 processor (3.9Ghz Turbo Core), 8GB DDR3 SDRAM, 1TB 7200RPM hard drive, 16x DVD+/-RW DL, 1GB NVIDIA GT 635 graphics, Dell Wireless 1703 802.11a/b/g/n wireless plus Bluetooth v4.0, 7.1 channel WAVE MAXXAudio 4, 19-in-1 media card reader, Windows 8.1 64-bit, 12-month antivirus, and a 1 year enhanced support.

  • DELL XPS 8700 DESKTOP DEAL
  • Use coupon code: 9M91VCNG1V7CFQ for $50 off a $699+ Dell Inspiron or XPS System purchase, expiring 5/3/14.
Copyright © 2000-2011 EXTREME Overclocking. All rights reserved.
Disclaimer of Liability - Privacy Policy
Secret Forum